Fresh mackerel

 

Have you tried fresh mackerel?  No come on, I don’t mean fish you’ve just brought from the supermarket or fishmonger.  I mean the fish that has been just caught from the sea.  OK, I’m very lucky I know a slightly crazy and friendly fisherman (ie husband!) who likes to head out to sea at the weekends.  He has a particular penchant for catching mackerel which is fantastic as they’re one of my favourite fish.  One weekend a few years ago he came back with 74 fish!  We ended up distributing them to friends up and down our street and filling our freezer.

He’s since tried to focus on catching other fish – sea bream, sea bass and plaice amongst others.  They’re great and quite delicious but I think the difference between supermarket and fresh mackerel is so significant I would be as happy as Larry just to get a net full of those each week.

One of our favourite ways to spend the evening is sitting on our boat in the mooring eating freshly caught and lightly cooked mackerel as the sun goes down.

As the season comes to an end, we’ve had far too few evenings eating fresh fish on our boat but our freezer is full of mackerel and so I raise a glass to the produce of the sea and my husband for bringing it home to us.  Here’s to next season and better weather.

 

